Time and Relative Cookies in Space

This week, I received a multitude of belated birthday/Christmas gifts from a good friend of mine, R. Among these things, came one of the most epic gifts I have ever recieved:

But this isn’t just any TARDIS. It’s a COOKIE JAR! So of course I decided this was a cause for something good to happen. And by good I mean – an excuse to my make my favourite cookies. I hadn’t baked since before Christmas, and I had to make a cheesecake that night anyway, so I figured I might as well make a big mess in the kitchen and have some fun.

My cookie of choice? Mocha Crunch Cookies. These, my friends, are the best cookie you will ever eat in your life (that is, if you are a coffee fan). They are sweet, light, crunchy, and taste AMAZING with a cold glass of milk.

To make these delightful treats you will need:
1/2 c Butter
1/4 Shortening
1/2 c Mini Semisweet Chocolate Chips (Nestle makes these – they are a bit pricier than normal chips, but the bag will last you a while)
1 egg YOLK
1 TB Instant Coffee Granules
1 3/4 c Flour
1.5 TS Vanilla
1/4 TS Baking Powder
1/4 TS Baking Soda
1/4 TS Salt
A  bowl 1/4 full of sugar, and a glass cookie press – or if you don’t own one, a glass cup with a flat bottom works fine.

Preheat your oven to a toasty 375. Make sure it’s at the right temperature because these lovelies burn very easily.

Cream the butter, shortening, and sugars. Add the YOLK of the egg. The first time I ever made these I put in the whole egg, and it was a disaster. Mix this in well, along with the vanilla.

If you’re like me, the next step, you’ll do in the same bowl. But if you are stickler about it – combine all the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. When you add the coffee granules, make sure you crush them with back of the spoon, or if you’re like me and you don’t care – grind them in your hands.

Now mix together both bowls of ingredients. The dough is going to seem sticky, but that’s okay – this is what will make them crunchy. Although sometimes I add a little extra flour (like 1/8 cup) if it’s really bad. Now put in your 1/2 cup chips and make sure everything is really well combined.

Now you should have a nice bowl of delicious cookie dough (and yes, PLEASE sample it, raw cookie dough is delicious – and yes I’m encouraging you to eat raw eggs, I’ve never died from it, so I’m giving you permission)

Roll the dough into 1 inch balls. Roll the balls in sugar and place the balls an inch apart on the cookie sheet. Take your glass press or cup, and dip the press/bottom of the cup in the sugar and press the cookies flat onto the tray. (You don’t want them paper thin, but relatively)

Now all you have to do is let them bake! Place them in the preheated oven for 8-10 minutes. You will know they are done with the edges are lightly browned but the center is a little bit soft. (They will firm up while they cool)

Voilah! Your cookies are done.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! (And apparently my roommates – the cookies are already halfway gone!)

One comment on “Time and Relative Cookies in Space

  1. Liz says:

    Looks, sounds, good — both the blog and the cookies! Great idea, Holly — I’m enjoying it already!

Leave a Reply

