Link’n’Beads!

This will be a short blog, but I’d like to talk about a couple of things that I decided this week, that I think warrant sharing on this little page ‘o mine.

First of all, I am slowly but surely finishing up my first afghan patch. Yes it is taking me a very long time – but it’s because I hadn’t realized it required so much math and for the first time in my life I’m having to check gauges with yarn/needles etc so that all the patches will come out the same size. I ended up purchasing a small afghan book online, that was recommended by someone on Ravelry. I think it will help a lot while I go through this semester long project. 🙂 So there’s that.

Secondly – I’ve been incredibly sick for about a week now. Which means I’ve had no energy, and spent a lot of time sitting/laying down. But I’m the type to get bored easily. Last weekend, I purchased some earring making supplies. Earring making is a new hobby for me – I picked it up over the winter break when I wandered into a beading shop in midtown Sacramento. I made some pretty cool earrings that month, such as these (my favourites):

(Don’t they just scream: “NERD ALERT!” ? And yes, for those of you not in the know, they are Doctor Who themed, and I love them)

Anyway, I sat down for a few hours last week and ended up with 14 pairs of earrings. Over the course of the next week, I ended up with 32, even making a second trip to the store for more supplies.

Sick obsession? Maybe.

But then it occured to be I should probably turn some sort of profit from this crazy project. I mean, afterall when you have something that looks like this:

one should probably start considering how much it’s costing them to make earrings they aren’t necessarily going to wear.

So lo’ and behold, I have opened an etsy shop. Here you will find earrings for sale. Though, all the ones I have made aren’t posted (because they charge you 20 cents per post) I have posted 15 pairs to start.

But it doesn’t stop there.

I can’t help but cringe at the idea of making 100% profit off somethign when it’s money I want but don’t necessarily need. I have a job, I have student financial aid…so what would make this a lot more fun? Adding it on to the afghan project!

So, I’ve decided, for every pair I sell, I’m adding 10% of the profit to the Project Patches jar! 🙂

Tenatively, for now, I’ve decided upon Save the Children for my charity of choice. My next blog (hopefully with a finished patch) will discuss in more detail who they are and what they do. But if you can’t wait, there’s the link.

That’s all for now. Check out the Etsy shop and tell me your thoughts below!

Leave a Reply

